Beware of the Barking Sheep!

22 Mar

This Black Sheep Malbec is absolutely horrible. There are so many inexpensive, delectable Malbecs on the market. Why bother making a bad one? This wine tastes like blackberry cough syrup sprinkled with basement dust.

I did a little investigating on Google to see if other wine drinkers had a similar experience with the Barking Sheep. Grocery Outlet isn’t exactly known for their wine handling practices. The bottle could have been corked.

Southbaygirl from The Wine Times says:

“I enjoyed this wine. It was best the day I opened the bottle-didn’t really hold very well the next day. But I drank it anyway….how can one waste a Barking Sheep!!!”

Robert Miller from Wine-o-Rama also warned of the Barking Sheep, but because you may “get hooked.”

“Smells like malbec:  lots of baking spice, especially brown sugar with hints of cinnamon and vanilla.  Tastes like malbec:  subtle licorice, with nice plum and cherry.  Barks like malbec?  Well, its smooth and luxurious mouthfeel is a bit different than your basic Argentinian malbec.”

Finally, I found someone who agreed with me on Feasting Fool’s Blog:

“I tasted some cherry and a little bit of spice, but there was nothing to get excited about.  People may mock the “Two Buck Chuck”, but even that has more depth and flavor than the Barking Sheep. “

I stand by my review, and would not recommend taking a chance on this one.

After dumping the Malbec down the drain, we opened a bottle of Saddler’s Peak 2008 Napa Valley Red Wine. I don’t have a label to upload, as it’s an off-brand wine. I would rate this wine 83/100. It’s pleasant, drinkable, but won’t knock your socks off. I would gamble and buy an unknown bottle over buying this one again. However, at $4.99, you can’t argue it’s not worth the price.

Arlen’s comments: I’d buy this over 2-Buck Chuck, even though it’s twice as expensive.

5 Responses to “Beware of the Barking Sheep!”

  1. Bob March 22, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    clever or joke labels rarely = good wine

    after you write your reviews you should try to find reviews by professional wine snobs and compare.

    “what the experts said”

    and reality

  2. Richard April 9, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    I tried some 2006 Barking Sheep Malbec yesterday. Got it from Grocery Outlet.

    Having recently returned from a trip to the Mendoza wine region in Argentina, I find this to be a fine, drinkable wine.

    The price of $2,99 @ Grocery Outlet makes it a steal in my opinion.

    • gospectator April 9, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

      Thanks for your feedback Richard. I agree that $2.99 is a steal, and chances are I picked up a corked bottle. However, I probably wouldn’t risk buying it again.

  3. Nicki January 15, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    I tried this wine in the winter, and it strong with some depth. The next day I was enjoying a glass in the sun, and the slight solar warming brought Barking Sheep to a whole different level. The flavors and textures smoothed and thinned slightly. I really enjoyed it.

  4. a.void June 10, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    This was my first malbec and it got me hooked. I went around town the last few weeks buying up different malbecs under $10 but didn’t enjoy them as much. wen’t back to Groce Out to get more Barking Sheep but they told me they went fast and were out. Oh well…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

